Tags

, , , ,


From urbandictionary.com, definition #2:
facebook stalking 193 up, 26 down
Looking at someones facebook profile and reading their recent news and wall posts. Monitoring another person’s facebook life.
I am facebook stalking you right now

Often when I’m in one of those “I could be in a funk, but there’s still time to save it” moods, I’ll check out the Facebook pages of my frenemies. Oh, look at the new pics posted by my former daughter-in-law. Looks like she’s doing well. Well, her posts suggest she hasn’t had a personality transformation. All the stuff I loved is still there. So is the stuff I really wished she would leave behind. Oh, look at my kids’ mom’s new pics on their new boat. Is that a feather in her hair? Wow, so ahead of the pack. I think there might be a couple of fashionistas out there w/o a feather still.

It’s a guilty pleasure, but a little bit of cheap fun that can sometimes put me back in perspective.

But Facebook use is falling off, folks. Like all good things, it began with some young innovators, spread to the old people, like me, then to the commercial crowd, and now the young people have changed the way they use it. Which will eventually lead to the old people changing the way they use it, since they only got on Facebook to follow or monitor their young people. It’s now my source for news and coupons rather than my social network.

What this all means for me is that today, when I woke up in that semi-funk and hit up my frenemies’ pages, there had been nothing new posted for weeks on one and the same old stupid crap on the other. No salvation for the semi-funk here.

But then again, maybe this is a sign that my new Zen approach is working. I’m just not seeing the joy in my old schadenfreude because I care less and less about my frenemies.

Or maybe it’s because, when my family is using Facebook to draft their memorial to my late uncle, the whole scene takes on a different hue. They’re sharing pictures and memories and friends are sharing condolences. And maybe that’s what the old people are going to do with this social networking tool given to them by the young, who used it to hook up with friends and to hook up so they could hook up and, sometimes, to bully and intimidate each other. We’ll use it to share grief, to follow our social causes, to streamline our news sources, and to follow our favorite products. They used it to build; we use it to process. I guess it’s the way of the world.

And hey, Justin Timberlake’s group just bought MySpace, which they plan to reinvigorate using the music platform that it has already begun trending towards, so I’m watching for the young to migrate back that direction. Just when I thought it was safe to forget my MySpace password.

