Tags

, , ,


When I was eight, my parents nearly moved to Wales. Other than the fact that I probably would not have met my husband, the love of my life, and have my wonderful children, I quite often wish they had. Potential benefits of move to Wales:
1) The accent. My favorite is Scottish, but I would settle for Welsh.
2) British education. I would be fluent in at least two other languages and know the classics. And Latin. And British history.
3) One and two mean I would automatically be (at least in appearance) intellectually superior to nearly anyone in my part of Michigan. It’s a well-known fact that anyone with a British accent is assumed to be smarter than someone with a Midwestern accent.
4) Trips to the Continent. They hop on a train and they’re there. I could have done the Grand Tour after high school without it costing an arm and a leg.
5) Cool British friends who also have accents.
6) Having a Queen. Not really because I’d have retained American citizenship, but, as a kid, would I have really known the difference? I know, I know, monarchy is medieval, etc., but it’s doing better right now than our new-fangled democracy, thank you very much.
7) I’d have had a much better chance of meeting Prince William.

This is just the top of the list. I never got to move to Wales, but I am a sadly outdated Anglophile. I read British mysteries, I watch BBC shows, I listen to BBC news, and my favorite actors are all British. Harry Potter is my favorite book series of all time and I have all of the books in the British version. Do you know Scholastic changed the Deluminator to Light-putter-outer for Americans? If that does not prove my point about the intellectual superiority mentioned in 3 above, I don’t know what does.

And now, after catching Bridget Jones’ Diary on TV a few weeks ago, I can’t get off my Bridget Jones kick. I’ve watched both movies and am working on the books. I finished the first one last night and had quite a shock. I know movies are never like the books, but the plot of the movie was very little like the plot of the book.

In fact, I was shocked to read Helen Fielding having a go at Hugh Grant and his whole Divine Brown incident. And Hugh still agreed to do the movie? Not that he doesn’t deserve having nearly everyone have a go at him for that one, but still. And Bridget is quite into Colin Firth and watches him in Pride and Prejudice in the first book. In the second, she and her girlfriends cue to the part where Colin dives into the pond in his white shirt. It’s a bit like entering an alternate universe or one of those movies that involve time traveling where you’re never sure what is real and what impact the time traveling has on the way things turned out or if the time traveling happened because of the way things were destined to turn out. Like Arnold Schwarzenegger in Total Recall. Wonder if, now that Arnold’s movie career is back in the forefront, he’ll try some time traveling to erase his decision to have an affair with his housekeeper. What Bridget’s girlfriends would have to say about that!

I saw some talk online about a third movie, but can’t imagine Renee wanting to put on the weight again or Colin wanting to add it to his IMDb page after his Oscar. What would be fun, though, Helen Fielding, is another novel, not in which Bridget is dealing with children, etc., but where she and her girlfriends, and Tom, are dealing with being middle-aged. After all, she was thirty-something in 1999, which means she’s in her forties now. I know the novels are still popular because they’ve been checked out of my library so long I gave up and checked out the Large Print versions. Which are awfully easy on the eyes, I must say, and give one a great sense of accomplishment because there are so many pages. Anyway, if you need to run through some ideas, Helen, just let me know. I’m not British, but neither is P.D. James and she’s done a bang-up job of writing British mysteries. Just a thought.

