Tags

,


I despise the death of summer.
Summer. Sunshine. Vacations. Warm air, even in the morning. Long days. Swimming. Boating. All things warm and fuzzy. Except women’s legs. And bikini areas. And armpits. Oh well, summer is worth the extra labor.
Don’t get me wrong. It’s not that I don’t like fall. I like a nice hot spiced cider, trips to the apple farm, and color tours as much as any other Midwesterner. But fall means the death of summer and that’s a tough one to take.
This morning as I walked the dogs, I thought, in order to stay upbeat, I should start the day by listing some positives about fall rather than bemoaning the death of summer. So here goes the start of a list:

1) Because the days are shorter, even normal people can get up in time to see the sunrise. And autumn sunrises are fantastic. This morning’s sunrise took place in the fog and, as I took the dogs out, some deer took off in the fog, their slender shapes floating ghostlike across the field.

2) The weather is changeable from morning to afternoon, which means a chance to wear pieces of clothing that have been in the closet for a few months. At least layers are fashionable right now.

From Layers Clothing

3) Autumn sleep is pretty amazing. It’s cool enough at night to really snuggle into the blankets, but not so cold that you cramp up from huddling to maintain body heat.

4) The air smells fantastic. Right now it’s just crisp, but soon it will take on that loamy smell that comes from the falling leaves and dying vegetation, which sounds disgusting, but is as good as apple pie in the oven.

5) Pies and other assorted baked goods. Everyone’s gardens are teeming and Midwesterners have made a baked good to deal with an excess of nearly everything a person can grow, including zucchini. I would have never guessed as a child that a bread made with something so intensely green could taste so wonderful.

That’s a start. I’m sure I’ll think of more as fall progresses. And I feel more positive already.

