Tags

, , , ,


Today I published my 100th post and hit my high point in views (mostly for pictures, but it’s a stat nonetheless). I thought I’d take the opportunity to reflect on what I like to call the “praise page.”

WordPress has this cool little uplifting page that pops up after you publish a post. It starts off with something positive like

Cool! This is your 100th post! It contains 543.5 words.

You’ve tagged this post with praise page, wordpress, blogging, and humor.
You’ve used no categories.
You might consider tagging this post with opportunity, stats, positive, publishing, get a life, does anyone read these, and 543.5.

I am a praise-monger, so I enjoy the opening line. I’m also motivated by numbers so double win.
As I move down the page, however, I’m less impressed. I just hit the publish button and just chose the tags, so, unless I’m drunk or am in early-onset dementia, I think I can remember which tags I used.
What I find most humorous are the tags they suggest. They’re words from the post, but not words that capture what the post is about. I scoff at the silly computer and its algorithms, but then I realize, all over again, what an amazing and complex function our brain performs when it reads.
And I get metaphysical. What is this post really about? Is it what I meant it to be or what the reader creates from it? Are the sentences most important? Or the words that make them up?

Ah, what the hell. I’ll take my trophy for playing, thank you very much, and celebrate that I’ve published my 100th post in just over four months. Quantity is where it’s at, baby. After all, there’s nothing about quality on the “praise page.”

