Have you seen this from Jada Pinkett Smith?

https://www.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10151519769731320&set=pb.51346591319.-2207520000.1373594468.&type=3&theater

What do you think it means to not like each other, but to love each other?  What do you do if only one of you is interested in having a positive relationship?  

I wish I could look back and say I became a giant.  I became more of a dwarf, but I’ve only seen it with the perspective of nearly two decades.

This makes me wonder what perspective I will have two decades from now on our tumultuous relationship with our oldest son and my responses to it.

Last week I saw a young man from a distance who dressed similarly and walked similarly and suddenly I just missed our son.  No anger or resentment.  Just missing.  And I realized that I need to drop the anger and resentment in order to open the door to his truly re-entering our lives.

And the next day  he hurt me and the anger and resentment threw up the protective walls.  

Life is a process and the learning curve is recursive.

